top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarland Banks

Why did I avoid watching La La Land For So Long? La La Land Movie Review!

Updated: Oct 15, 2019

La La Land is heartbreaking and devastating but a truly incredible real experience! La La Land is a film about love, heartbreak, sacrifice and passion for one's craft. This film is just an all-around masterpiece from the incredible writing to the incredible directing this film was put together beautifully. One thing I love about this film is the vibrant colours in certain scenes and the devastatingly beautiful atmosphere that's built around the story.


Also, the cinematography is absolutely astonishing. In terms of the technological aspects of this movie, it's pretty incredible. The audio mixing, costume design and production design & ect were on point and definitely played a huge part in why I felt so connected to this film and kept my interest purely on what was going on each scene, absolutely phenomenal filmmaking.



This film also has great and subtle foreshadowing throughout the film. The chemistry between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone was so pure and genuine that it added a lot of necessary charm. I seriously love everything about this film, like I love that Emma and Ryan aren't amazing singers so it makes everything so much more real and the music much more emotional and connected to the film.


Like the song, City Of Stars in this film was a phenomenal song for this movie. This film also uses music, unlike any film I've seen before. It adds a legitimate amount of emotion and importance in every single scene. The songs reflect the characters and the situations the characters are going through in a way that kept me completely connected and emotionally invested in the film. The songs are also used to foreshadow things that happen later on in the film which is just a fantastic addition to this incredibly beautiful story. La La Land really is one of those films that brings the emotions out of me every time I think about it or even listen to a song from the soundtrack.



It's one of the few movies I've felt this strong of an emotional connection to the characters and that's why I love this movie. Also, Damien Chazelle truly did a phenomenal job at creating this masterpiece of cinema, you can truly feel the passion and effort he puts into creating his art! Obviously, the ending of this movie was flawless and that final scene will go down as one of my favourite scenes from any film ever. To sum up this review, La La Land can be fun, charming and beautiful but devastating and heartbreaking all at the same time. This film is a true reflection of reality and I loved every second of it.



Rating: 10/10

47 views0 comments
bottom of page