top of page
  • Writer's pictureHarland Banks

This Film Will Catch You By Surprise In A Good Way! Bad Trip Movie Review!

At first, Bad Trip may not seem like anything special but when your able to find a comedic-based film that's able to match your sense of humor so well with a good story and a fantastic cast it's really hard not to fall in love with that film.





Bad Trip feels like it was specifically made for me. That's how genuinely funny it was and how connected I was to the film and characters. From the minute the film started to the moment it ended I found myself completely interested and entertained without a single scene or moment that pulled me out of the film. Even with all the craziness, this film brings I found myself constantly on the edge of my seat and just laughing hysterically.





Going into this I thought it would probably be really generic or just not be able to pull off what is necessary for a film like this to work. A film that relies on the reaction of real people is a huge risk and we've seen it fail so many times in the past but this film manages to nail it. On top of the difficulties of filming a movie in the middle of a real functioning society, road trip comedies have been done so many times being able to find strong unique humor to make your film stand out has proven to be difficult in this genre but once again this proves not to be an issue for this movie which will keep you consistently laughing throughout. For me, all the jokes and comedy landed and this is one of the strongest pieces of comedic cinema in the last decade!





Obviously, I shouldn't have questioned the comedic capabilities of this film because a trio of Eric Andre, Tiffany Haddish, and Lil Rey Howery is like a comedic match made in heaven. All three of them are obviously hilarious as proven in the past but they also had fantastic chemistry together and have proven once again they are all fantastic at this art. Also, the character dynamics were great and I found all the characters to be great. I thought they picked all the right clips as well and the comedic timing from this cast especially Eric Andre was absolutely phenomenal. Good comedic timing plays such a huge part in a film like this being able to keep people engaged and laughing makes this film that much more impressive.





At the end of the day, Bad Trip is a crazy, hilarious, and very fun ride that is filled with amazing comedy as well as tons of substance, great storytelling, and more complexity than you would expect. The pacing was amazing and the editing which is very important was a big positive stand out that I took away from this film. The cast is fantastic and the comedic geniuses behind this film pulled off what will be one of the most important films this year. I was shocked to find myself so engaged, involved, and connected to this film that I was truly interested in every scene and moment in this film. I was constantly entertained and I really enjoyed the story and characters. This film matched my sense of humor perfectly so obviously this film might not be for you but I would definitely recommend this film to everyone because I think everyone should at least give it a chance!




Rating: 9.5/10

12 views0 comments
bottom of page