top of page

How Satisfying Was The End Of The Avengers? Endgame Movie Review!

Updated: Oct 15, 2019

I liked Endgame but the truth is Infinity War was much better. There I said it. That's not me trying to take anything away from Endgame for what it was, because it wasn't an awful film and I did really enjoy it but it definitely had some major problems. Infinity War wasn't perfect either but it did something that Endgame didn't do and that was it utilized the best villain in the MCU by far the best they could so what I'm trying to say is Thanos elevated Infinity War to another level.


Endgame's biggest issue is that the film is a horrible follow up to Infinity War since from the moment the film begins it pretty much-abandoned everything Infinity War set up for it. The toning for the film was awful especially since it's supposed to be very dark yet just about every scene in the film has a very family-friendly comedic vibe to it which works for promotional reasons but it doesn't work at all based off of what's actually going on in this film.


It does have a lot of charm and it's amazing just to witness such a big and important film for the Marvel fans and I'm not saying this film is overhyped at all because if you are a marvel fan you will most likely watch this movie 3+ times in the theatre and will be one of your annual watches on DVD/Blu-ray/streaming. As a movie, tho Endgame is good but not fantastic. A lot of the time travel plot doesn't really make any sense and they do seem to go backwards with a lot of these characters they were building onto for this film. Of course, I loved the scene where they are fighting Thanos and all of sudden Captain America summoned Thor's hammer!



Scenes like that were amazing and emotional for marvel fans in a way which is why despite all the issues I had I will always love this movie. The pacing is also kinda wack especially at the beginning and the end but I also understand they had to pretty much re-setup the entire plot of the film because they strayed away from Infinity War so much and I understand they wanted fans to leave the theatre feeling like the avengers had gotten a proper send-off.



Hawkeye was incredible in this film and I loved the opening which his family turning into dust and you can see the fear and confusion from his performance in that scene. They gave a proper send off to Black Widow, Iron man and Captain America which was definitely needed for this film to accomplish anything. It did a great job setting up to guardians 3 with Thor and a good set up for far from home. The fight scene at the end was a huge spectacle and it was definitely worth all the build-up. At the end of the day, I really did enjoy this film but I have to acknowledge that despite the emotional value and investment I have in it the film definitely had some problems.



Rating: 7/10


Personal Enjoyment Rating: 9/10

47 views0 comments
bottom of page